Thanks a lot...

Last night  I had a discussion with a collegue and "friend" of R (its a guy he studied with to become a pilot, no one really close but we have spent a fair share of time together) about the maltese school system. He says Malta is the best and I said I dont agree. He doesnt want to listen and I say that its better if we "agree to disagree". He keeps stuffing his ideas down my throat and I keep telling him that he is not going to change my mind and tell him to stop his ranting. Then he takes it one step further by saying that since i havent been through the whole system (ie I dont have a university degree) I shouldnt discuss such things. He talks down to me as if i was a child.

but you cant pose an argument when you have zero experience about it
[21/03/2011 22:03:46] :D
[21/03/2011 22:03:48] understand?
[21/03/2011 22:03:59] so try not to discuss something you dont know about
[21/03/2011 22:04:14] the system in malta works - and  very well
[21/03/2011 22:04:17] the standard is high

So Im less qualified just cause I dont have a degree? As opposed to him at least I have seen two different school systems. I happen to think that I have a much better base where I have not been forced to study and where I learnt things that you can not learn by heart from a book. As R says, "common sense is not so common in Malta". I cant agree with 5 year olds having 10 homeworks per week and 15 year olds having to quit sports cause they have too much with school. I didnt even bring this up into the discussion since I realized he wouldnt be able to listen, instead I tried over and over to explain that nothing he would say would change my mind. He kept arguing and in the end I had to switch off the IM to stop it.

At least now I know where we stand and I will never look at him the same way, obviously he thinks im worth less since I dont have a degree!


Kommentarer


Kommentera inlägget här:


Namn:
Kom ihåg mig?

E-postadress: (publiceras ej)

URL/Bloggadress:

Kommentar:

Trackback
RSS 2.0