What a mess!

Now I will update you on the whole maid issue and Im not sure if I should laugh or cry with what Im going to tell you now. I dont know if I mentioned it before but we have decided to open a new world of maid by also looking for male maids. R was not convinced from the start cause he said men dont clean as well as women. I know its not right and after having had male cleaners coming over with the agency we have hired once a week R was proven wrong and he said he wouldnt mind a man, especially after the trouble we had with M. When we landed in Malta I got an sms from a friend here in Dubai where she told me that her maids husband is looking for a job as a houseboy and that he would love to work with us if we were interested. We felt that it would be a great arrangement as we would have a happy houseboy with his wife around the corner and that would help a lot. The plan was that we would meet him when we returned but in the meantime the chaos begun. Our friend´s daughter got chicken pox so their maid could not move in with them when she came her from Sri Lanka as she hadnt had chicken pox as a kid. Instead she moved in with a third friend for the time being and N, our houseboy had obviously been there to visit his wife. All was well and good until the third friend´s daughter also got chicken pox and we had to assume that both N and his wife had been exposed to it. After lots of hassles they both got vaccinated as it seemed if given within 5 days the chicken pox might not break out at all, or at least make you less sick. My mum is not sure if I had it as kid or not and I can not take the vaccine as it is a live one which is dangerous for me I couldnt meet him when we got back home. His visa was going to expire on the 29th so we couldnt delay anymore. We decided to take a chance on him as two sweds had said he is such a nice man and R met him to complete the paperwork needed and everything went well until they needed to stamp his "entry stamp" in his passport and we didnt have it! The man made en exception and R would be allowed back to stamp the passport the following day but here comes the worst part of the story, the previous employer is refusing to give us the passport unless N leaves the country! There were no legal reasons behind this, with the papers we had for them they would still get their 2000 dhs that every employer has to pay as a deposit for the employee until he leaves the country again. R tried everything, talked to the manager of the hotel who actually hung up on R with the words "this is our policy, please understand our position and pay for a ticked to Muscat or Doha"!  The ticket ended up a mess too when we were told that N coldnt travel today as his passport would not be ready from where it had to be picked up and the tickets for th 29th were more expensive than today. I called and called to talk to the right person as she kept "being out on lunch break" (for 1 hour 40 minutes!) before she confirmed that they could have the passport ready for N to travel in the evening today. I booked the ticket and when I paid I realized I had made a mistake and booked his ticket under his two first names, none of his sirnames! Called flydubai in panic and was told they cant add names to the ticket but he will be allowed to travel as long as both names are listed on this passport. It didnt sound right and I was beside me with worry that he wouldnt be allowed on the plane so half an hour later I called back and talked to someone else who gave me the same answer, it didnt matter what the names were, as long as there were two, and they were both on the passport. It didnt really calm me though, it sounded so wrong but there was nothing else I could do until he tried to check in so I had to wait and see. Have been worried all day but now N is on the flight to Muscat, returning back with the same flight and will be back home again in 2 hrs. Where is he staying now? Since his wife could move back to her employers the "third friend" has again had to take in someone elses maid short term. Thanks to ppl that help others!


~~~~

I know website is in Swedish but should you wish to leave a comment click where it says "0 kommentarer" (or any number of course) Then fill in your details
"Namn" - Name  (tick the box if you want it to remember who you are)
E-post adress: Your email address (wont be published)
URL is pretty obvious but you dont need one to post
And finally you write whatever comment you want to post in the big box saying "Kommentar" and post it by clicking "Skicka kommentar".

 



Kommentarer


Kommentera inlägget här:


Namn:
Kom ihåg mig?

E-postadress: (publiceras ej)

URL/Bloggadress:

Kommentar:

Trackback
RSS 2.0