London update

Better late then never, here is a London update.

Had some trouble with the flight going there, a collegue and friend of R with wife and son (that is in J´s class at school) were going up with the same flight and at the check in we got seats spread out all over since all of a sudden the plane was almost full. The crew arranged for us though and we got an "unofficial" upgrade to club class. Relaxed in other words :)

When we arrived I had to wait for a few minutes for mum and M and then we headed for the tube. The trip was a bit confused, Circle line was not running at all but we solved it and found the hotel, very close to Paddington Station. Our room was not ready so we headed out again, quick lunch at Mc Donalds around the corner and then off to Picadilly Circus and Regent Street to walk towards Oxford Street. OMG how crowded it was. We were there the exact same dates last year and it was nowhere near as bad then. We couldnt put up with it very long and pretty empty handed (apart from a shampoo) we had dinner at Nando´s we went back to the hotel for some rest. Mum and M had left with the train at around 4 am and I had woken up at 5 so we were pretty tired!

We spent Sunday sightseeing. We werent going to go "in" anywhere but I wanted to show M some of the sights from the outside. Managed to find buslines that took us past Tower of London, Tower Bridge, London Eye and Trafalgar Square to Covent Garden. I hadnt taken my mum there last year and she liked it a lot. We went in a few shops there and had a look at the "market" before we had tea and muffin at Muffinski´s. We had read about it on the internet, glutenfree muffins every day and impressingly also 3 different to choose between. We bought an extra to take with us, couldnt miss out on the opportunity :) After a loong walk via Russell Square and a closed lunchplace (where they have glutenfree wraps) we ended up back at Covent Garden to look for somewhere to eat. Everywhere was pretty crowded but we found a good place and headed off to Buckingham Palace before we went to Marble Arch and a quick shop at Primark before they closed and then we had another early night, with muffins and tea for dinner at the hotel :D

On Monday we went to Westfield shopping centre. Were supposed to meet my friend from "my first baby blog" but unfortunately she was not feeling well. We left from Westfield with heavy shopping bags filled from Marks & Spencer (underwear), The Entertainer (xmas presents for the kids, both from us and my mum). Back to the hotel to change and get ready for the musical. We saw Grease and it was very good. I found it extra nice that we on and off, got to see the orchestra playing, when I saw Mamma Mia last year I took it for granted that it was singback or playback but maybe they had an orchestra too?

Tueday was our last day and we headed to Oxford Street again, had a look in the shops one last time before we had lunch at Nando´s and then it was time to pass the hotel for our bags and go to Heathrow. Mum and M left from T5 so I went with them since my flight was much later, helped them check in and then we had some coffee and tea. When the left to go through security I went to T4 igen, kollade av "allt" en sista gång innan vi åt lunch på Nandos och and yet again it was a bit of a hassle for me to get on the flight. Only 5 seat available so I didnt get a seat but they took my bags and then you normally get a seat by the gate when they have confirmed that no one is showing up last minute willing to pay the full fare. Did my last shopping, Boots and WH Smith before I had last dinner in peace in quiet. Were lucky with the flight again and got a seat. When I was boarding I got a text from my mum that they had just landed! Back in Malta (at 00.40) my father in law picked me up at the airport since R had to stay home with the kids, waking them up in the middle of the night was not an option.

At home I found A in our bed, how cosy it was to get in bed next to him! In the middle of the night I woke up from his cold nose pressing on mine and when I opened my eyes he said "mamma?", yes i mumbled and he threw himself on me and gave me a long and hard hug, then a kiss and then he was so excited he had to wake up R to tell him that "mummy is back home". Even J was really happy when she woke up and I was there. Its great to be missed :)

The hotel was anything but luxury, but to me brilliant value for money. In London I feel you have to pay really lots to stay nice, there is nothing inbetween even though many hotels woluld like to call themselves middleclass. Bfast was continental yet they served yogurt and fresh fruit and for only 3 pounds extra they cooked english bfast. Let me know if anyone is interested to find out more.


Kommentarer


Kommentera inlägget här:


Namn:
Kom ihåg mig?

E-postadress: (publiceras ej)

URL/Bloggadress:

Kommentar:

Trackback
RSS 2.0